International Workshop on
Cryptocurrencies and Blockchain Technology - CBT'18

September 6-7, 2018, Barcelona, Catalonia.
In conjunction with ESORICS 2018


Submission Deadline: June 18, 2018
(23h59 GMT-11)

Author Notification:
July 10, 2018

Camera Ready:
July 25, 2018


Aims and Scope

Since the appearance of Bitcoin in 2009, a plethora of new cryptocurrencies and other blockchain based systems have been deployed with different success. While some of them are slightly different copies of Bitcoin, other ones propose interesting improvements or new usages of the underlying blockchain technology. However, the novelty of such technologies is often tied with rapid developments and proof-of-concept software, and rigorous scientific analyses of the proposed systems are often skipped.

This workshop aims to provide a forum for researchers in this area to carefully analyze current systems and propose new ones in order to create a scientific background for a solid development of new cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology systems.


The main topics include (but are not limited to):

Program Commitee

PC Chairs:

Joaquin Garcia-Alfaro, Institut Mines-Télécom, France
Email: joaquin.garcia_alfaro [at] telecom-sudparis [dot] eu

Jordi Herrera-Joancomartí, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Catalonia
Email: jordi.herrera [at] uab [dot] cat

PC Members:
Daniel Augot - INRIA Saclay (France)
Rainer Böhme - Universität Innsbruck (Austria)
Joseph Bonneau - NYU (USA)
Jeremy Clark - Concordia University (Canada)
Ittay Eyal - Technion (Israel)
Hannes Hartenstein - KIT (Germany)
Akira Kanaoka - Toho university (Japan)
Ghassan Karame - NEC Research (Germany)
Shin'ichiro Matsuo - Georgetown University (USA)
Patrick McCorry - UCL (UK)
Sarah Meiklejohn - UCL (UK)
Andrew Miller - University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (USA)
Pedro Moreno Sanchez - Purdue university (USA)
Jose Luis Muñoz Tapia - UPC (Catalonia)
Guillermo Navarro - UAB (Catalonia)
Cristina Pérez-Solà - UAB (Catalonia)
Tim Ruffing - Saarland University (Germany)
Roger Wattenhofer - ETH (Switzerland)
Aviv Zohar - The Hebrew University (Israel)


Submitted papers must be original and not submitted for publication elsewhere. Authors are invited to submit their manuscripts following the LNCS Proceedings Manuscript style. Papers are limited to 16 pages (full papers), or 8 pages (short papers) including references and appendices, and can be submitted as PDF via the CBT 2018 submission site.

Accepted conference papers will be published by Springer in the LNCS collection. At least one author of each accepted paper is required to register and present their work at the workshop; otherwise the paper will not be included in the proceedings.


To register to CBT 2018, please follow the general registration instructions for ESORICS 2018 (kindly specify CBT when registering to the registration service).
Link to ESORICS 2018 registration page


The workshop will be held in Barcelona, in conjunction with the 23rd annual European research event in Computer Security (ESORICS 2018) symposium.

More information about the venue is available on the ESORICS 2018 website at

Accommodation information is also available from the ESORICS 2018 website at